Study Overseas Process

Sign up for free

expert consultation

Down Arrow

I accept the Terms & Conditions

Personalized Services
Don't know what to do?

Get Free Counseling

Posted on October 15 2022

A new scoring system in November 2022 puts the spotlight on BC PNP

By  Editor
Updated September 01 2023

Highlights of BC PNP adopting a new scoring system

  • On November 16, 2022, BC PNP will adopt a new scoring system when it reopens.
  • British Columbia will also adopt the new NOC 2021 just like the whole Canada immigration system will in November 2022.
  • Further details about BC PNP’s new scoring system will be revealed when a new guide for the same will be published.

Canada is bringing changes to its federal and provincial immigration systems in a step-by-step manner. A new change has been announced by British Columbia too recently to be implemented under the BC PNP Skills Immigration Stream.

BC PNP will adopt a new scoring system on November 16, 2022. This will be aligned with the introduction of the new NOC 2021 system to codify occupations of immigrants during the processing of an application for a Canada PR visa.

Also read: Do you know what the switch from NOC to TEER category system is about?

As of now, more details on the new scoring system are yet to emerge.

The BC PNP Skills Immigration Stream was shut down on October 12, 2022. Any applications pending processing in the application pool as of October 12, 2022, have been removed. Applicants will have to reapply on November 16, 2022, when the stream is restarted under BC PNP.


Currently, the following immigration categories are open, allowing Canada immigration candidates to lodge applications for Canada PR.

  • International Post-Graduate
  • BC PNP Health Authority
  • Entrepreneur Immigration

Also read: 80% of Canadian employers seek better immigration to fill jobs in Canada

The dawn of NOC 2021

The new NOC 2021 system of classification and coding of occupations for immigrants will be implemented on November 16, 2022.

As it is in the Canada immigration system, there are certain select occupations identified and considered to be eligible for a certain immigration program. Currently, the NOC 2016 is in vogue which is a four-digit code. This will shift to the NOC 2021 which will have a five-digit code.

Under NOC 2021, the skill level for each occupation will be broken down into six categories. The aim of doing this is to better represent the level of training, experience, education, and responsibilities (TEER).

For your understanding, here we give you a snapshot of the shift from NOC 2016 to NOC 2021.

Skill Type/Level

TEER Category
Skill Type 0


Skill level A

Skill level B

TEER 2 and TEER 3


Know your eligibility to immigrate to Canada through Y-Axis Canada Immigration Points Calculator.

This overhaul of NOC takes place every 10 years in Canada. Through NOC, IRCC implements a standardized, nationally recognized system of classifying occupations for the purpose of immigration assessment. For candidates like you, it’s important to choose the right NOC code while applying for Canada immigration.

If you are willing to migrate to Canada, talk to Y-Axis, the leading immigration and career consultant in the UAE.

If you find this blog engaging, you may also like:

BC PNP draw issued 374 Skills Immigration invitations



canada immigration

Canada PR visa

Migrate to Canada


Y-Axis Services

Personalized Services

Get it on your mobile

Personalized Services

Get News alerts

Personalized Services

Contact Y-Axis

Latest Article

Popular Post

Trending Article


Posted On June 14 2024

Canada issued more than 60,000 LMIAs in 2023