Immigration Acronyms and Full Forms:

AOR – Acknowledgement of Receipt
CAIPS – Computer Assisted Immigration Processing System. This is the computer system used by Citizenship and Immigration Canada for storing all overseas visa application information. This system records every bit of information you provide. It is like an electronic identity; the existence of the applicant. This is very helpful when anything abnormal happens (e.g. delay in reply, lack of updation, long processing time). It is also helpful when you are selected for the interview. You can know the probable cause of the interview requirement by obtaining the CAIPS notes.
CANN – Community Airport Newcomers’ Network
CELPIP – Canadian English Language Proficiency Index Program. This is one of only two English language testing organizations approved by CIC (IELTS is the other). CELPIP testing is only available in Canada (Vancouver and Toronto) and China.
CIC – Citizenship and Immigration Canada
CICIC – Canadian Information Centre for International Credentials
CIDA – Canadian International Development Agency
COPR – Confirmation of Permanent Resident Form
CPP – Canada Pension Plan
CSQ – Certificate du Selection du Quebec (Quebec Certificate of Selection)
DMP – Designated Medical Practitioner. Under the Skilled Worker Program application, all family members must undergo a medical exam, performed by a doctor that has been approved by Citizenship and Immigration Canada.
EAL – English as an Additional Language
e-CAS – e-Client Application Status. This online service allows CIC clients to view securely the status of immigration and/or citizenship application(s) online, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. You may use this service if you have sponsored a member of the family class, applied for permanent residence from within or outside Canada, applied for a permanent resident card (initial, replacement or renewal), applied for a grant of Canadian citizenship, or applied for a proof of Canadian citizenship.
EFL – English as a Foreign Language
EI – Employment Insurance (also sometimes referred to as unemployment insurance)
ELT – English Language Training/Teaching
ESL – English as a Second Language
ESOL – English for Speakers of Other Languages
ESP – English for Specific Purposes
GIC – Guaranteed Investment Certificate
GST – Goods and Services Tax
H&C grounds – Humanitarian and Compassionate grounds. In the case of Canadian immigration, refers to section A25(1) of the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act. Any person who does not comply with the three categories of immigration to Canada (family, economic and refugee) may ask to be considered for immigration selection on H&C grounds.
HRDC (see HRSDC) – former Human Resources Development Canada
HRSDC – Human Resources and Skills Development Canada. The government agency is responsible for performing both Arranged Employment Opinions and Labour Market Opinions for the purposes of obtaining employment confirmation letters. Such letters may be required by Skilled Worker applicants when attempting to qualify for the additional ten points under the Arranged Employment Factor.
IA – Initial Assessment
ICCS – International Council for Canadian Studies
ID – Identification
IELTS – International English Language Testing System. One of only two English language testing organizations approved by CIC (CELPIP is the other). Note that Skilled Worker applicants will want to complete the IELTS ‘General Training’ exams, not the ‘Academic Training’ exams.
IRPA – Immigration and Refugee Protection Act
IRPA – Immigration and Refugee Protection Act.
IRPR – Immigration and Refugee Protection Regulations
MSP – Medical Services Plan
NGO – Non -Governmental Organization
NOC – National Occupational Classification
OLA – Open Learning Agency
PNP – Provincial Nominee Program
PPR -Passport Request
PST – Provincial Sales Tax
RCMP – Royal Canadian Mounted Police
RRPF – Right of Permanent Residence Fee
RRSP – Registered Retirement Savings Plan
SIN – Social Insurance Number
SWP – Skilled Worker Program
TEF – Test d’Evaluation de Français. The only French-language testing organization approved by CIC. Note that Skilled Workers are to complete the following tests: Comprehension Ocrite / Comprehension Orale / Expression Ecrite / Expression Orale.
VSO – Voluntary Services Overseas
WCB – Workers’ Compensation Board
YMCA – Young Men’s Christian Association
YWCA – Young Women’s Christian Association


BSO – Border Service Officer
BVOR – Blended Visa Office -Referred Program
CBSA – Canada Border Services Agency
CCR – Canadian Council for Refugees
CHRC – Canadian Human Rights Commission
CLB – Canadian Language Benchmarks N
CLBA – Canadian Language Benchmarks Assessment
COB – Country of Birth
CPC – Case Processing Centre
ESDC – Employment and Social Development Canada
ETD – Emergency Travel Document
FC – Family Class
FSL – French as a Second Language
GOC – Government Operations Centre
HDC – Humanitarian Designated Classes
HPC – Humanitarian – Protected Persons Abroad Class
ICARE – Immigration Contribution Agreement Reporting Environment
ICCPR – International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights
IO – Immigration Officer
IOM – International Organization for Migration
IRB – Immigration and Refugee Board
IRCC – Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada
IRPR – Immigration and Refugee Protection Regulations
NSC – National Settlement Council
OGD – Other Government Department
PA Principal Applicant
POB – Place of Birth
POE – Port of Entry
PP – Protected Persons
PRC – Permanent Resident Card
PRTD – Permanent Resident Travel Document
PTR – Protected Temporary Resident
RAP – Resettlement Assistance Program
RAP -IS – Resettlement Assistance Program Income Support
TD – Travel Document
TFW – Temporary Foreign Worker
TR – Temporary Resident