Canada Federal Skilled Trades Program Details

The Federal Skilled Trades Program or FSTP is one of the three programs in the Express Entry System which helps international skilled workers to secure a job and permanent residence in Canada.

Skilled workers in various occupations can submit their profiles to the FSTP and get a chance to receive an invitation to apply for permanent residence in Canada.  The selection is based on a lottery system, but the chances of selection are high because Canada has a labor shortage in different occupations.

The government of Canada releases a list of skilled trades that are facing a shortage of labor on a regular basis. Based on this list international workers and those on a temporary work permit can apply in the FSTP to see if they have a chance to be selected.

The list of skilled trades is based on Canada’s National Occupational Classification (NOC) list. If you get your Canadian permanent residence through the Federal Skilled Trades Program, you will be eligible to live and work in Canada and can become a Canadian citizen after a few years.

Eligibility requirements
  • Must have an employment offer in Canada (with an employment term of at least one year) or you must have a Certificate of Qualification from a provincial or territorial body
  • Must have work experience in a skilled trade for at least two years in a full-time or part-time job
  • Must meet or exceed the Canadian Language Benchmark (CLB) ranking or required language levels in English or French needed for the job by taking the relevant tests
  • Applicant must demonstrate his ability to meet the job requirements of the skilled trade as per NOC requirements
Documents requirements
  • Current passport and travel history
  • Proof of language proficiency
  • Police clearance certificate

The FSTP has no educational requirement.


What is Canada’s Federal Skilled Trades Program?

The Federal Skilled Trades Program is for skilled workers who want to become permanent residents based on their expertise in a skilled trade.

What jobs are considered skilled trades for Express Entry FSTP?

The Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada publishes a list of eligible trades under the National Occupational Classification (NOC):

  1. Major groups:
    • 72 – industrial, electrical and construction trades,
    • 73 – maintenance and equipment operation trades
    • 82 – supervisors and technical jobs in natural resources, agriculture and related production
    • 92 – processing, manufacturing and utilities supervisors and central control operators
  2. Minor groups:
    • 632 – chefs and cooks
    • 633 – butchers and bakers
What is FSTP in Express Entry?

A candidate interested in Canadian permanent residence through the Express Entry program will have to go through a points-based selection system. The Express Entry System basically consists of three sub-categories:

  1. Federal Skilled Workers Program (FSWP)
  2. Federal Skilled Traders Program (FSTP)
  3. Canadian Experience Class (CEC)
What are the eligibility requirements to apply for the Federal Skilled Trades Program?
  • A full-time job offer from a Canadian employer of at least 1-year duration or a certificate of qualification from a provincial, territorial, or federal governing body
  • Language proficiency score in French or English issued by the Canadian Language Benchmark (CLB)
  • A minimum of two years of full-time work experience within the last 5 years
  • Proof that you meet the job requirements of your skilled trade
  • Proof of having enough funds for you and your family to settle in Canada unless you have a valid job offer or can legally work in Canada.
Do I have to stay in a specific part of Canada?

If eligible for FSTP, you can stay in any part of Canada except Quebec. The province of Quebec has its own selection process.

Quick Eligibility Check for Points Tested Immigration Visa

Get Latest Immigration Updates

Visa Resources

Our Accreditations
  • Member of Migration Institute

  • CICC

  • Mara Logo