Do you know about the new Regional Visa in Australia?


Australia brings into effect the new Regional Visa (Subclass 491) from 16th November 2019. Even though the Visa will be effective from a later date, the legislation has already been made available. Thus, aspirants planning to apply for an Australian Visa can plan ahead.

The definition of what constitutes a “Regional Area” will also be revised by the Australian Govt. The new definition will be applicable to all Australian visa subclasses including Student Visas.

The below areas are considered as “Regional Areas” in Australia:

  1. All areas outside the metropolitan area of Sydney
  2. All areas outside the metropolitan area of Melbourne
  3. All areas outside the metropolitan area of Perth
  4. All areas outside the metropolitan area of Brisbane
  5. All areas outside the metropolitan area of Gold Coast
  6. The entire state of Northern Territory
  7. The entire state of South Australia

The Australian Govt., however, is yet to release the postcodes of the regional areas.

The requirements of the new Subclass 491 are more or less the same as the Subclass 489 Visa. The Subclass 489 will cease to exist once the Subclass 491 comes into effect.

The requirements of the Subclass 491 Visa are:

  1. The applicant should have sponsorship from a state or territory in Australia. Or, a family member living in a designated area in Australia should have sponsored the applicant.
  2. The applicant should have obtained an ITA (Invitation to Apply)
  3. The applicant must be less than 45 years in age
  4. The applicant should be able to provide evidence of competent English
  5. The applicant should be able to score the required number of points for this Visa

The validity of the Subclass 491 Regional Visa is 5 years, as per SBS News.

Applicants will have to comply with strict conditions on living in a “Regional Area”. The primary applicant and the dependents would be able to live, work and study in designated “regional” areas only.

Subclass 491 Visa holders who meet the 3-year mandatory stay in a regional area would be able to apply for the Subclass 191 Permanent Residence Skilled Regional Visa. The applicants should have complied with all the conditions of the Subclass 491 visa before applying for the Subclass 191 Visa. Applicants will also need to provide tax assessment records for 3 years while applying for the Subclass 191 Visa. Also, the taxable income of the applicants should be above the threshold. The required income level is yet to be announced by the Australian Govt.

Y-Axis offers a wide range of visa services and products for aspiring overseas immigrants including General skilled migration – Subclass 189 /190/489 with RMA review, General skilled migration – Subclass 189 /190/489, Work Visa for Australia, and Business Visa for Australia. We work with Registered Migration Agents in Australia.

If you are looking to Visit, Study, Work, Invest or Migrate to Australia, talk to Y-Axis, the World’s No.1 Immigration & Visa Consultant.


If you found this blog engaging, you may also like…

Working-age migrants are more beneficial to Australia

About author View all posts

Y-Axis Dubai

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

one × 3 =