Italy welcomes tourists from Europe, borders reopen from June 3

Italy reopens for EU

After 3 months of border closure and total lockdown due to COVID-19, Italy has after much deliberation decided to reopen its borders to tourists from the EU member states and the Schengen area. The Italy tourist visa is finally coming back in action now.

The decision has been made amidst criticism from other nations due to the rate of COVID-19 infections the nation had suffered.

The Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation Luigi Di Maio was confident with moving ahead with the plan. He was quite positive about the measure as it has been decided on with constructive discussions with different states.

He was also finding relief in the current COVID-19 data, which he claimed was put before the world with complete transparency.

However, he has disagreed to comment on Greece’s move to impose quarantine on 4 Italian regions.

Starting June 3, 2020, the following states will be allowed to travel freely for any reason to and from Italy:

  • Vatican City State
  • Republic of San Marino
  • Monaco
  • Andorra
  • United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • Non-EU States part of the Schengen Agreement (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Switzerland)
  • Member States of the European Union

From June 3, 2020, returnees to Italy from these countries won’t be subjected to compulsory 2-week isolation and sanitary surveillance. This is unless they have stayed in different countries for 14 days before entering Italy.

If you are looking to Study, Work, Visit, Invest or Migrate to Europe, talk to Y-Axis, the World’s No.1 Immigration & Visa Company.

If you found this blog engaging, you may also like…

Greece will reopen borders to 29 countries from June 15

About author View all posts

Y-Axis Dubai

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

5 − four =